6 Quite Interesting Facts About The Nobel Prize For Literature

Canadian writer Alice Munro is the winner of the 2013 Nobel Prize in Literature. The Swedish Academy, which selects Nobel Literature winners, called her a “master of the contemporary short story“.

The 2013 Nobel Prize for Literature was announced today, 10 October 2013. The Nobel Prize in Literature has been Awarded to 110 Nobel Laureates since 1901

Alfred Nobel’s library consisted of a rich and broad selection of literature in different languages. During the last years of his life, he tried his hand as an author and began writing fiction.

Did You Know?

  1. 105 Nobel Prizes in Literature have been awarded from 1901 to 2012.
  2. 13 women have been awarded the Literature Prize.
  3. 4 Literature Prizes have been divided between two persons.
  4. 42 years was the age of the youngest Literature Laureate ever, Rudyard Kipling, best known for The Jungle Book.
  5. 88 years was the age of the oldest Literature Laureate ever, Doris Lessing, when she was awarded the Prize in 2007.
  6. 64 is the average age of the Nobel Laureates in Literature the year they were awarded the prize.

Source for Nobel Facts

Image: William Faulkner’s 1950 medal with his acceptance speech. (Source)

Amanda Patterson by Amanda Patterson

Buy Me A Coffee

Why we ask you to buy us a coffee:

  1. We want to keep our site free of clutter and advertising.
  2. If you’re inspired, educated, or even entertained by our posts, please give us a donation.
  3. We’ll keep Writers Write about writing and nothing else.
Posted on: 10th October 2013