Book Review – Passion

by Lauren Kate (Doubleday) ISBN 978 03856 1808 3

Los Angeles-based author Lauren Kate is the internationally bestselling creator of the wildly popular Fallen series.

Passion is the third in the quartet of romantic paranormal novels aimed at young adults.

Ethereally dark and exquisitely beautiful Luce travels back through time and history to test her relationship with the tormented blond fallen angel Daniel. She wants to know if he really loves her – or if he is simply caught up in the curse neither of them seems able to break. Daniel is forced bring her back from the dangerous shadows of the past to face the risks of the present.

Passion not only explores the extremes young lovers will face to be together, but also neatly sets the stage for the final book.

The story is told in a crisp, evocative style, although some of the dialogue is less than elegant. While the time travel plot line can be annoying at times, it does feed the story and give us a background to the main characters.

Recommended for anyone who is looking for a paranormal fix after Twilight and a must for those who enjoyed the first two books Lauren Kate’s series.

Anthony Ehlers



Luce Price is desperate to break the curse that keeps her from her one true love, Daniel.

Luce with the apparent guidance of a gargoyle must go back through the centuries and revisit her various reincarnations that each hold a different clue to her fate.

Meanwhile Daniel and other fallen angels are in hot pursuit of Luce through the ages to stop her before she makes a choice that alters their history.

Passion is the sequel to Lauren Kate’s novel, Fallen. The reader can pick up on the essence of the first book and ease into the romantic plot of the second even if they have not had a chance to read the first.

The story is focused on the intense connection between the two main characters Luce and Daniel and Lauren does well to relay this concentrated emotion to the reader. The chapters are divided into centuries and moves rather swiftly.

To enjoy the culmination of the story one will need to read the third book, Torment.

Liz Breet



Posted on: 8th November 2011